Located in Building 411, Suite 127
Hours: Monday-Friday 0730-1630
Phone: (315) 253-3855 or 0827-79-3855
Group email: OMBIwakuni.EducationOffice@usmc-mccs.org
The Education Services Office at MCAS Iwakuni is here to help service members, spouses, dependents, and others affiliated with the installation plan for college and career and reach their personal and professional goals. Education Services Specialists are available to assist students throughout the education process from career to personality exploration utilizing resources, such as Occupational Outlook Handbook and O*Net Interest Profiler, as well as college and university selection research with resources such as College Navigator.
We are available to support in a variety of ways, including:
UPCOMING CLASSES:
College 101 / TA Orientation Brief
Overview of education opportunities and tuition assistance request process. Satisfies initial counseling pre-requisite to use TA.
- Friday, March 1, 1000-1100
- Tuesday, March 19, 1700-1800
- Friday, March 22, 1000-1100
Understanding Your GI Bill Benefits
The GI Bill-focused brief will help explain the differences between Montgomery GI Bill (Ch 30) and Post 9/11 GI Bill (Ch 33). Explore the VA website and GI Bill comparison tool to understand how to use these benefits and to get the most out of them. Bring your questions and get answers from our Education Advisor!
- Monday, March 11, 1300-1430
- Monday, April 8, 1300-1430
FAFSA, Scholarships, and Financial Aid for College
Questions about other resources to pay for school? Wondering if you can use other funding sources in addition to or instead of GI Bill? This class will go over how to search for scholarships and teach some FAFSA and financial aid basics.
- Monday, March 18, 1300-1430
Choosing the Best College and Degree Program for You
Searching for the right college or degree program can feel overwhelming. This class will help you understand what to look for, provide search tools, and consider how to connect long-term career goals with your academic decisions.
- Monday, April 22, 1300-1430
The first step in college and career planning is choosing the right career path for you. Kuder Journey's education and career counseling program is designed to help military students learn, assess and plan, based on personal interests, skills and work values. Use the system to develop a college and career plan tailored to your needs and interests to help make life's journey easier and more rewarding.
And it's FREE!
All active-duty Service members (Army, Marine Corps, Navy, Air Force, and Coast Guard), as well as members of the National Guard and Reserve components, can use Kuder Journey for tailored education and career guidance.
GO TO: DANTES.KUDER.COM and click "CREATE AN ACCOUNT."
DoD's Career Path DECIDE is designed to improve service members' access to information about civilian careers, their knowledge, skill, and ability gaps, as well as available education and professional development opportunities.
Use Career Path DECIDE to identify the career paths for which you are most qualified, based on military experience and current education level. Take the four short surveys in Career Path DECIDE to find possible career patches based on your skills, interests, values, and lifestyle then connect with real world information on job requirements, average salary, and job growth. Once you set your career goal, use the system to identify specific and actionable steps to improve your qualifications for your desired career. Career Path DECIDE is easy to use, requires no user account, and can be accessed from any device (desktop, laptop, or mobile).
Welcome to the new Department of Defense TA DECIDE. This dynamic information and comparison tool is designed specifically to aid participants of DoD's Tuition Assistance (TA) program in making informed choices on schools and education programs. The TA DECIDE engine is fueled by more than 10 recognized and trusted data sources from across the departments of Defense, Education and Veterans Affairs. It provides a first of its kind experience, uniquely tailored to the needs of the TA participant.
U.S. Department of Education: Accreditation: Universities and Higher Education
Is the school you want to attend accredited? Find out here: This accreditation database is brought to you by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE).
The GI Bill provides educational assistance to servicemembers, veterans, and their dependents.
The GI Bill comparison tool provides key information about college affordability and value so beneficiaries can choose the best education program for their needs.
We have a VA benefits advisor available to assist with VA programs, including GI Bill!
Building 411, Room 128 (in the Education Services Office)
Use the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA®) form to apply for financial aid for college or grad school.
JKO provides continuous, career-long development of joint knowledge and joint readiness for individuals, staffs, Combatant Commands, Combat Support Agencies, and the Services.
The Joint Services Transcript (JST) provides a description of military schooling and work history in civilian language. ... It serves as an aid in preparing resumes and explaining Army, Coast Guard, Marine Corps, National Guard and Navy work experience to civilian employers.
Improve your academic skills, raise your standardized scores, and achieve college readiness with Peterson’s Online Academic Skills Course (OASC). Through partnership with DANTES, Peterson’s provides this academic service free of charge to all active duty military, Reserves and National Guard, their families, and DoD civilians.
Visit this page for ACT test preparation resources.
Visit this page for SAT test preparation resources.
Pearson VUE welcomes Service members, their dependents, military trainers and testing programs.
Online tutoring and homework help for U.S. military and their families provided 24/7 at no cost by the U.S. Department of Defense and Coast Guard Mutual Assistance.
Read and learn for free about the following article: Start tutoring with Khan Academy.
Our GRE Companion provides personal tutoring, with immediate feedback on every incorrect answer. It automatically adapts to your personal skill level and can even remind you via e-mail of what's best to study next!
GED Testing Service is a joint venture of the American Council on Education and Pearson. The GED® test has opened doors to better jobs and college programs for more than 18 million graduates since 1942. Last year nearly 800,000 adults sat for the GED test, which is accepted by virtually all U.S. colleges and employers. Please note that this service costs $15.00
